The Art of Addiction

As a society we are bound by countless addictions, some healthier than others. But how can one identify a terrible addiction let alone combat it? It’s a sad realisation that for some it may take years if not forever to defeat an addiction, in which case another would most likely take its place. However this also tends to either be for the better or worse…

Today I met the craziest looking man dressed in the most outrageous clothes, so colourful he stuck out like a sore thumb! Now having lived in New York City for several months, I immediately realised that this man was one of the many found on street corners and in parks, making a living of off generous donations from the public. This particular man was hoping to attract passersby with his vibrant and unusual clothing, allowing them to photograph him in exchange for a small donation.

I could not pull my eyes away from those colours! As I observed, I noted that the man must have incorporated as many colours as he could on as many fabrics as possible! Curiosity got the better of me and I approached. As I got closer, I noticed a guy standing right in front of the colourful-man, he was rocking a professional looking camera and was using it to take a few snaps. I was close enough to eavesdrop. It sounded like the camera guy had not paid the colourful-man for the privilege to photograph. Powerless to do anything else from his position on top of a trash bin, the colourful-man angrily threw his hat at the guy’s camera. It landed flat on the guy’s face, the colourful-man must have put a lot of strength into the throw because it felt solid as it brushed past me.

I was now standing right beside the trash bin that the colourful man was standing on, close enough to catch a glimpse of the very few surviving rotten teeth left in his mouth. He bared all in his bid to shower the camera guy and all others like him, with as many curses as possible.

Slightly unnerved by the colourful-man’s hostile demeanor, I mastered the courage to ask if I could take a photograph of him. I figured politeness might go a long way and soften this man’s heart, and in turn he might lower his barrier long enough to let me take the photograph. Unsurprisingly he immediately objected to my request. I had no money to offer him, he was not interested.

It seemed luck was on my side. An hour later I found myself seating next to the colourful-man, and to my surprise his hostile mood had radically transformed. His new lady companion who clung on to him affectionately, was evidently the source of his newly inspired cheerful mood.

For a while I observed him, deeply curious. However I could not stop myself from complimenting him on his outfit, at which point his companion immediately engaged me in conversation. She was positively beaming as she shared some old photographs of the colourful-man’s previous creations. Evidently he had always favoured bright colours and outrageous designs.

The man’s companion continued to confide that before this new found passion for fashion, he was tightly bound by some pretty dangerous habits. She scratched the surface of his past and painted a bright picture. I discovered that in order for him to detangle himself from the firm clutches of his drug addiction, the colourful man sought comfort from all things art and fashion, and in doing so birthed a new tolerable addiction.

The colourful man had remained silent, it seemed he felt comfortable enough to allow his companion to share his past with me. He savoured his cigarette and right before he took the last drag, he paused and concluded saying that the more he focused on creating his extravagant outfits, the further he drifted away from his poisonous habits. If I learnt anything from this encounter, it would be that although addictions are not generally healthy or ideal, some offer salvation.

Leave a comment